Federal Government shuts down Kano, Enugu, Port Harcourt international airports

Minister of State for Aviation Senator Hadi Sirika

Capt. Musa Nuhu, the Director-General of the Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority, announced the closure of three international airports (the Mallam Aminu Kano International Airport, Kano; the Akanu Ibiam International Airport, Enugu; and the Port Harcourt International Airport) till further notice.

International flights are currently only restricted to the Murtala Muhammed and the Nnamdi Azikiwe International airports in Lagos and Abuja respectively.

The restriction is a precautionary measure taken to curb the spread of coronavirus in the country.

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation and Chairman of the Taskforce, Boss Mustapha, had in a   statement on Friday stated that “effective from Saturday 21st March, 2020 midnight, the Mallam Aminu Kano International Airport, Kano; Akanu Ibiam International Airport, Enugu and the Port-Harcourt International Airport, Omagwa will be closed to all international flights”.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Federal Government closes Lagos, Abuja international airports. NRC gives conditions for using railway services - Naija Buzz News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Naija News

To Top