UPDATED: Lawan defeats Ndume, emerges Nigeria’s Senate President. Gbajabiamila emerges Speaker

Ahmed Lawan

Senator Ahmed Lawan, the anointed candidate of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), has defeated Senator Ali Ndume to emerge as the Senate President of the 9th National Assembly.

Lawan got 79 votes to defeat Ndume who got 28 votes.

Naija Buzz had earlier reported that the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) declared its support for Ndume.

PDP has 44 Senators-elect but Ndume was only able to pull 28 votes.

Lawan however got 79, 60 of which are from APC senators-elect. Apart from Senator Ifeanyi Uba of the YPP, the remaining 18 votes were from PDP senators who apparently preferred him to Ndume.

The Clerk to the National Assembly, Mohammed Sani-Omolori, declared Lawan winner after the secret ballot voting.

“It is my pleasure to announce that Senator elect, Ahmed Lawan, having scored the highest number of total votes cast is hereby returned duly elected as Senate President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria,” Sani-Omolori said.

Mr. Femi Gbajabiamila also emerged as the new Speaker of the 9th National House of Representatives.

The former Majority Leader got 281 votes to defeat his rival, Hon. Umar Bago, who scored 76 votes.

He was declared winner by the Clerk of the National Assembly, Sani-Omolori.

“Femi Gbajabiamila, having secured the majority of the votes counted is hereby returned elected and declared speaker of the house,” Sani-Omolori said.

Lawan and Gbajabiamila the anointed candidates of the ruling APC for Senate President and Speaker won convincingly on Tuesday.

Femi Gbajabiamila
Femi Gbajabiamila, the Speaker of the 9th National House of Representatives

Also, Ahmed Wase from Plateau State was declared winner of the position of Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives. He emerged unopposed after his nomination by Sada Soli from Katsina State.

Senator Ovie Omo-Agege, the Delta State senator who reportedly invaded the National Assembly with thugs in 2018 and stole the mace, was elected Deputy Senate President. He got 68 votes to defeated Senator Ike Ekweremadu how got 37 votes.

The ruling APC had earlier in the week declared its support for Omo-Agege and Wase for the Deputy Senate President and Speaker positions respectively.



  1. Pingback: APC Governors travelled all the way to Abuja just to congratulate President Buhari on the election of Lawan and Gbajabiamila - Naija Buzz News

  2. Pingback: Federal Government withdraws N5billion corruption charges against Senator Goje for stepping down for Lawan to emerge as Senate President - Naija Buzz News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Naija News

To Top