PDP declares support for Ndume and Bago. APC orders lawmakers to vote Lawan and Gbajabiamila

National Assembly

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has directed all its lawmakers to vote for Senator Ali Ndume and Hon. Umar Bago for the 9th Assembly Senate President and Speaker of the House, respectively.

The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) had declared its support for Senator Ahmed Lawan and Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila, for Senate President and Speaker respectively.

The party had in a statement by its National Chairman, Adams Oshiomhole, warned its members against making any deal with the opposition PDP which he (Oshiomhole) described as “devil”.

The APC National Working Committee on Monday ahead of today election again ordered all its lawmakers-elect to vote for its anointed candidate, Senator Lawan and Mr. Gbajabiamila.

The APC NWC also endorsed Senator Ovie Omo-Agege and Idris Wase for the position of Deputy Senate President and Deputy Speaker, respectively.

Omo-Agege is the Delta State senator who in 2018 invaded the Senate with thugs and took away the mace which is the symbol of authority in the upper chamber.

The strongest opposition PDP after carefully deliberation decided to support Ndume who is from Borno State, North-East Nigeria.

Senator Ndume had despite his party’s support for the candidacy of Lawan, insisted that he would contest the position.

The APC currently has over 60 senators-elect, while the PDP has 44. If Ndume is able to get at least 8 of his colleagues to vote for him, he would defeat the APC anointed candidate in the election today.

The House is however not feasible enough as the gap between the APC and PDP lawmakers is just too wide unless Hon. Bago is somehow able to get a good number of his colleagues in the APC to vote for him instead.

The lawmakers might however be scared of voting against their party’s choice because of the fear of sanctions and possibly prosecution just like it happened to the 8th Assembly Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki.

Ndume currently has about 3 APC senators who might vote for him today; Senator Francis Alimikhena, Kabiru Gaya and Orji Uzor Kalu, who was denied opportunity to contest the Deputy Senate President position.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Senator Lawan defeats Ndume, emerges Nigeria’s Senate President - NaijaBuzz.News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Naija News

To Top