It was easier to woo South-West in 2014 during the creation of APC – Buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari, seven All Progressives Congress Governors and Ex-Governor Rauf Aregbesola of Osun State, were on Friday honoured by The Progressives Governors Forum.

The 7 APC governors who are outgoing governors includes; Rochas Okorocha (Imo State); Alhaji Kashim Shettima (Borno State); Tanko Al-Makura (Nasarawa State); Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun State); Abiola Ajimobi (Oyo State);  Ibrahim Giadam (Yobe State); and Abdulaziz Yari (Zamfara State).

The honour was said to be in recognition of their leadership qualities and service to the APC since it was created in 2014 during the buildup of the 2015 general elections.

Buhari who was honoured for his outstanding qualities in leadership revealed that he was taken by surprise.

“We remain committed to improving the welfare of the Nigerian people. Your excellencies,  it will be belabouring the point to say that true federalism is necessary at this juncture of our political and democratic evolution.

“At a time when a  few privileged individuals and groups have chosen to exploit and manipulate the ethnic and religious fault for personal and partisan advantage, we need to build bridges across the different divides and instil faith in the unity and indivisibility of one Nigeria.”

“I call on the state governments to be a strong pillar of support for our anti-corruption agenda, as well as continued support for our programmes of social protection, school feeding  and other policies geared towards human capital development.”

The president further revealed that it was easier to woo the South-West during the creation of APC because it was more united but the South-East and South-South were already facing problems.

“It was easier to woo the South-West because it was more united,” Buhari stated.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Naija News

To Top