Lawan and Gbajabiamila must emerge as next Senate President and Speaker, APC insists

The National Leader of the APC, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, and the National Chairman of the APC, Adams Oshiomhole

The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) has again insisted on Senator Ahmed Lawan and Femi Gbajabiamila as its anointed candidates for the position of the 9th Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives, respectively.

The position of the ruling party was made known by the National Publicity Secretary of the party, Lanre Issa-Onilu.

He further noted that the APC would not allow a repeat of what happened in 2015 which saw the emergence of Senate President Bukola Saraki and Hon. Yakubu Dogara as the leaders of the National Assembly against the party’s plan.

“Our members have been given the free hand to discuss with everybody towards ensuring that the right thing is done.

“That is consultation. It is not the same thing as working with the other party. It is just a way of carrying other people along that what we want is what is obtainable in the best of democracy in the world.

“The commitment is in the fulfillment of the manifesto upon which we received the majority votes. We are all stakeholders in the project,” the APC spokesman said (as seen on Punch).

Ahmed Lawan
Ahmed Lawan

Two APC senators, Ali Ndume from Borno State and Danjuma Goje from Gombe State have declared their interest in contesting the senate presidency position even against the party support.

To emerge victorious, these senators must seek for the support of their colleagues from opposition parties especially the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) with over 40 senators.

Also, House of Representatives lawmakers from the North-Central region have also rejected the endorsement of Gbajabiamila by the APC.

Femi Gbajabiamila
Femi Gbajabiamila


Buzzy Stories

To Top